If I had to choose whether to fast between the sunrise and sunset or sunset and sunrise provided that the day is 12h long, definitely Ramadan is more easy for me since my eating habits are strongly regulated by my autonomous nervous system (because of that don't feel hungry in the morning). So by far some other restrictions in my list will make this month a bit more complicated.

I thought that being a vegan would not be a big deal for me, since I'm not using that much animal products in my cooking anyway, but as far as social eating and restaurants are considered, it's not definitely that simple anymore. I'm gonna be the vice-maid of honour in my friends weddings 13.8. and in the bachelorette-party 6.8. and beside not participating for dinner same time as everyone else there maybe won't be either too many things to eat. Vegetarian option in weddings is containing cream and cheese and restaurant of bachelorette-party has just one possibly vegan main course, not any single entrée.

After bachelorette-party planning head to look for some food. As Namaskaar (Indian fast-food chain) was closed, I was looking for something to eat from the major gourmet department store, Stockmann. They had very nice selection of salads, but all the calory-rich options were containing either chicken or fish and vegetarian sandwiches were containing cheese and/or eggs. Only vegan options in ready-food section were green salad, inari+cucumber sushi and lingonberry-semolina-porridge. I ended up buying rye bread, vegan cheese and organic green currants. And as I forgot to take bottle of fresh juice or smoothie, I ended up breaking my first fasting day with multinational exploiter and the most anti-arabic drink ever- Coca-Cola zero.

The reason I'm not fully vegan or vegetarian is purely ethical lazyness, but I guess my slow transforming to that direction is telling that deeply inside I don't want to support heavily substitised meat- and dairy-industry, which won't be ever animal- or enviromentally friendly. Ideological meat eaters (it's quite popular in Finland since some people find irritating that vegetarians think their diet is ethically superior and also because low carb diet is easy option to lose weight for people with binge eating disorder) often state that it's not any more enviromentally friendly to eat soy-based products and goji-berries imported from China, but they seem to forget how the enviromental costs were if the Western diet would not lie so heavily on eggs, dairy products and meat, and thus would also produce more protein-rich vegetables.

You don't really have to be Jamie Oliver to make delicious vegan food: for example yesterday before going to sleep I was eating rye-sandwich with vegan-cheese, zucchini, cucumber, coriander, lettuce, balsamic vinegar and soy sauce: simple, fast and would also work with tofu/misopaste. Why this kind of options are not offered to us in supermarkets and restaurants? It's kind of frightning that our basic needs are so heavily depended on slaving and killing animals.