When it finally gets around 20:20, happens something that is quite common with people who have impatiently waited for something. Just like a person suffering from insomnia and feeling drowsy all day long, when it's finally the M-moment, I'm not feeling hungry. I mostly eat, cause I don't want to be a skeleton in the end of August. Appetite is anyway better than it was when I was suffering from giardia lambia or something in Indonesia.

So I think I have to admit I'm a sugarholic: all the summer I have been eating cakes, sweet bakery, ice cream, candy etc. practically every day, cause it has been "too difficult" to resist the temptation. And when you feel anxious, it feels better to eat something totally unhealthy instead of fruits, mämmi (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M%C3%A4mmi)  or protein bars. And as with alcohol and cheese, it's easier to have total abstinence or let yourself taste just a spoonful.

Some of my friends are less capable for fasting. They need every 3-4h somekind of meal or otherwise they feel week, irritated and nausea. One of them is a muslim, so would be actually interesting to know how she survives. If she's able to do it for 1 month, this constant need of eating must be at least partly a habit.

From medical point of view I don't find fasting Ramadan- or any other way either healthy or recommendable, but maybe one point why it's so essential part of many cultures is that it's good way to get some discipline to your eating habits and appetite: just to remind that there are also million other ways to reward yourself than ice-cream and chocolate cake. As more than 50% of Finnish adults are overweight, maybe our body is not that intelligently designed to regulate it's energy-balance.